Document "forget" security considerations and add references

Removing data based on a policy when the attacker had the opportunity to
add data to your repository comes with some considerations. This is
added to the 060_forget.rst documentation.

That document is also updated to reflect that restic now considers
the current system time while running "forget".

References to the security considerations section are added:
- In `restic forget --help`
- In the threat model (design.rst)
- In the (030) setup section where an append-only setup is referenced

A reference is also to be added to the `rest-server` readme's
append-only paragraph (see my fork).

This commit also resolves a typo (amount->number for countable noun),
changes a password length recommendation into the metric that
actually matters when creating passwords (entropy) since I was editing
these doc files anyway, and updates the outdated copyright year in
`conf.py`.

Some wording in 060_forget (line 21..22) was changed to clarify what
"forget" and "prune" do, to try and avoid the apparent misconception
that "forget" does not remove any data.
This commit is contained in:
Luc Gommans authored and Leo R. Lundgren committed 2022-03-23 23:12:19 +01:00
1 parent ca1e2316cf
commit 9c1d49e312
5 files changed
+64 -14

No files matched your search

+2
View File
@@ -18,6 +18,8 @@ The "forget" command removes snapshots according to a policy. Please note that
this command really only deletes the snapshot object in the repository, which
is a reference to data stored there. In order to remove this (now unreferenced)
data after 'forget' was run successfully, see the 'prune' command.
When using this command on special append-only repositories, please see the
documentation for security considerations.
EXIT STATUS
===========